From 4ec5e9ebd4993c5303ef1b0b3579d1b52a3d9d34 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001 From: Luca Boccassi Date: Sun, 3 May 2026 14:47:25 +0100 Subject: [PATCH] Stop deleting system user/group on remove/purge Removing system users/groups on purge is considered bad practice, as the kernel recycles UIDs/GIDs. So any potential leftover file/directory can then become owned by the next user/group that gets added, with unpredictable consequences. --- debian/dcmtk.postrm | 6 ------ 1 file changed, 6 deletions(-) diff --git a/debian/dcmtk.postrm b/debian/dcmtk.postrm index b8efc7e4..b4c19e5a 100644 --- a/debian/dcmtk.postrm +++ b/debian/dcmtk.postrm @@ -19,11 +19,5 @@ if [ "$1" = "purge" ] ; then fi fi -# Remove dcmtk user/group if they exist on cleanup -if id -u "dcmtk" > /dev/null 2>&1; then - echo "Removing \`dcmtk' user and group from the system..." - userdel dcmtk -fi - #DEBHELPER# -- 2.30.2